Skip to main content

European Demographer Awards 2022 go to Sergi Trias-Llimós (Barcelona), Alyson van Raalte (Rostock) and Matthew Wallace (Stockholm)

European Demographer Awards 2022


Since 2015, the prestigious European Demographer Awards have honoured outstanding research at the frontier of anthropological, biological, economic, historical, mathematical, political, sociological or statistical population studies, achieved by researchers in the early stage of their careers or those at more advanced stages. The applications are evaluated by an evaluation committee composed of eminent demographers from all over Europe.

The awards will be presented by the Vice-President of the European Commission for Democracy and Demography, Dubravka Šuica, at a hybrid event in the WissenschaftsForum in Berlin on 16 May 2022 from 6 to 8 PM.


The prize will be awarded in two categories:

For a promising and upcoming researcher, who has obtained their Ph.D. within the period of 2016-2021

Dr. Sergi Trias-Llimós is Juan de la Cierva Research Fellow at the Centre d'Estudis Demogràfics of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona in Spain.
Further information at:

Dr. Matthew Wallace is a researcher at the Demography Unit of the Sociology Department at Stockholm University in Sweden.
Further information at:


For a more experienced researcher, who has obtained their Ph.D. within the period of 2006-2011 

Dr. Alyson van Raalte is head of the research group: Lifespan Inequalities at the Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research in Rostock.
Further information: Interview and Website Alyson van Raalte


For further information on the European Demographer Awards, please contact Dr Andreas Edel, Executive Secretary, Population Europe / Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research (, 0049 160 907 68 444).